NA Motor Discussions regarding N/A KA24E, KA24DE, and SR20DE

Timing Chain Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2003, 07:55 AM

Question Timing Chain Replacement

Hi Guys. Another Newbie here. I just bought a 1993 240SX Coupe with 140K miles. I am not noticing any noises from the timing chain, but want to get it replaced just to be safe. Anyone here direct me to a shop in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area that will do a good job without raking me over the coals $$$ wise? Or are there any members in the DFW area that want to earn some extra money on the side to do this job?

I thought about doing this myself, but I just don't have the time or tools to get it done - or the know how.

Thanks for your replies,
TexRauder
'99 Marauder Hot Rod
Old 03-18-2003, 07:57 AM
Contributing Member

you are only gona want to replace the tensioner and guides...
the chain is probaly fine..they usually dont wear or stretch.

but then again what do i know about timing issues in the S13?

if you decide to do the job your self(recomended) you will only need a handfull of tools
Old 03-18-2003, 08:18 AM

Time is more of a problem than anything else. What do I need to do to replace just the parts that you are recommending?

What is required to do the tensioner and guides?

Also, my lower seal on the front of the oil pan is leaking, what is required to fix that? Is it as simple as dropping the oil pan and putting a new gasket on?

Sorry for all the questions, but like I said, I'm a newbie to the 240SX - all my previous experience is with small block chevys! Ask me a question about a 383 stroker motor and I can build one in my sleep, but I'm just not familiar with the 240SX yet. Although, I am enjoying driving it - this is a great car to drive!

Thanks.

Last edited by TexRauder; 03-18-2003 at 08:23 AM.
Old 03-18-2003, 11:25 AM
Contributing Member

Originally posted by TexRauder
Time is more of a problem than anything else. What do I need to do to replace just the parts that you are recommending?