General For General 240sx/Silvia (s-chassis) discussions.

please read kouki owners(newbie here)

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2008, 07:46 PM

please read kouki owners(newbie here)

hi. im jason, im 17 and as of now i own a 98 honda prelude. the nissan bug is biting pretty hard so im gonna sell my lude for a 240. im in the market for a kouki and i would really appreciate it if you can answer some questions for me. do they have any common problems? if so what kinds and how much would repairs cost? is there anything i should know about them before buying one(even if its small)? and what kind of car are they just all around? i dont want to buy a car thats gonna break down every week. my budget is around 7,000(thats about how much i can get for the lude). so yea every ones input will be greatly appreciated.
Old 06-05-2008, 09:08 PM
Contributing Member

get one with low mileage. if you arent sure of your mechanical abilities, bring a friend.

a common problem is front timing chain guide, which is right under the valve cover, and has a nasty habit of breaking. remove it. also, the timing chain as a whole is pretty weak, and shoudl be replaced after 100k. basically, look for your basic problems. test drive it, check for rust (strut towers are a good place to look) ask for a maintenance record, and expect to do a lot of online reading.

they are small, and they can be a handful, but once you buy one, dont expect to get out of the 240 game anytime soon.
Old 06-06-2008, 08:10 AM

Cronux - has it on the head.

The only thing that I could add is that how much things will cost you really depend on your mechanical abilities, if you can do the work yourself, you'll save a lot more money. Things are certainly more accessible on the S14 than it was on my Z32 (I can actually stick my hands in the engine bay with the S).