Engine Swaps Discussion about motor swaps ONLY.

Question about Right Hand Drive

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2004, 03:18 PM

Exclamation Question about Right Hand Drive

Well guys I am new to the 240SX world but not to tuning ( I have a 400 HP Eclipse as my current car), but I have some questions. I want to swap in a SR20DET to my 1990 240SX, and I am wondering if I buy a complete front clip if it is possible to convert my 240SX to right-hand drive as well. This may have been aswered before but I searched around some and didn't seem to find anything. Are the interior pieces interchangeble, and how hard would it be to move the pedals and the linkages? If anyone has done this please let me know what I would be looking at.
Old 12-29-2004, 05:52 PM
Contributing Member

well. if you buy a front clip there shouldnt be much modifications. everything comes setup already for rhd. but, your interior is not interchangable because it would not accomidate the rhd. the center concil would have to be changed as well as the dash of coruse(you would probably get one with the clip). under the hood, thats another story. i couldnt answer that question for ya

good luck if you decide to do it, and if you do POST SOME PICS
Old 12-29-2004, 06:57 PM
Contributing Member

yes if you buy a clip it should come with a dash..l however i dont know why you would make it RHD...
Old 12-30-2004, 05:14 AM

think you can. everything is on the clip. but yeah, don't know why you would.
Old 12-30-2004, 10:49 AM

So as long as I have the dash and the interior parts from the front clip, they will fit the US 240 SX but be flipped around, correct? The underhood junk shouldnt be too hard besides the steering column and moving the pedals. As for why I'm doing it: why not? How many RHD cars do you see? As long as I'm going all out with a swap and trying to make it an authentic Silvia i might as well make it RHD. Its different... and I have a lot of time and a big garage to waste
Old 12-30-2004, 10:54 AM